Congratulations to our BCBUA 2020 Awards Recipients!



George Connelly Award – Gord McFarlane

"Gord has been a leader among his colleagues in the UIC world for many years. His commitment to supporting his youth officials through leading yearly clinics, modelling a flagship mentorship program and creating opportunities for his members has earned him respect and appreciation from his peers. In addition to serving his home association, Gord is always willing to lend a hand to his fellow UICs when they need it."



Doug Hudlin Award – Phil Bourgeois

"Phil has long demonstrated his commitment to the BCBUA through the selfless giving of his time and talents in the areas of the association's administration and in member education. He has worked this past year on a number of important projects such as our Conduct Committee, education resource development, and Return to Play protocols and resources. Phil's contribution this past year has been instrumental in the ongoing service to BCBUA members."



Richard Christie Award – Jim Van Meer

"Jim's work as a UIC and his commitment to providing mentorship opportunities for his umpires has been an example of true service leadership. Jim continues to support the development of other UICs through participating in BCBUA committees and sharing of best practices at the local level. As an exemplary Umpire-in-Chief, Jim is a worthy selection for this award."



Abe Shapiro Award - John Pentland

"John continues to show leadership for umpire development in the province through mentoring young umpires, instructing clinics, supervising and evaluating members. John is always providing constructive feedback. As both a UIC and a BCBUA Area Rep, his contributions seem endless and he is an inspiration to the rest of us. His service on the Education Committee this past year was critical to the completion of online course modules for Level 1, 2 and 3 umpires. We do not have enough ways to acknowledge the outstanding contributions made by John in support of our members."

Chuck Blaikie Award – Education Committee Committee members:

John Pentland, Shawn Schaefer, Sean Weatherill, Troy Carmont, Nick Van Dyk ,Brad Jones, Steve Boutang, Phil Bourgeois, Kyle Anderson, and Chair Rhonda Pauls Special acknowledgement to Craig Burt and Will Chambers for individual project contributions



"For the first time, a committee is receiving this important award. The scope of the work done by the Education committee this year significantly improved the diverse delivery of resources for our members, including revisions to L1 and L2 clinics, High Level Clinic material creation, complete conversion to online delivery of rules and mechanics, and continuous adaptation of Return to Play guidelines. Many hours and much hard work was done by this committee, and their service to the association ensured our members continued development opportunities despite very challenging circumstances this year."